Little Miss S is Worth 1000 Words

Many years have passed since I first attempted NaNoWriMo in 2002 on a whim and I found it to be quite fun. I wrote an attempt at a tongue in cheek sendup of science fiction and laughed at myself in the process. I also made my (now ex-)husband insane, which was just a bonus.

If you have something against NaNo, I’d advise you to move on away from this post or keep your trap shut. I have no patience for snarky shit like “anyone can be a writer if you set the bar low enough.” Ask anyone who creates anything – art, music, stories, cupcakes – and they will tell you that there’s no way to get better at your craft than to practice it.

The first draft of this was likely a mess.

You don’t know if you can do something unless you try. Just because every one of those snarky writers came out of the womb able to craft fine prose doesn’t mean everyone can, so why be shitty to people who are trying to learn or just having fun? Oh, right. Superiority. The most hilarious thing about it is that there are plenty of well-established writers, the sort you find on bestseller lists, who think it’s a great idea and tons of fun. This leads me to believe that the snarkers are not doing as well on their own writing and need to make themselves feel better.

Anyway, there is a lovely lady called Debbie Ridpath Ohi who does cartoons for NaNoWriMo and is an all-around nice lady. She came up with some neat little things called the 250, 500, and 1000 word a day challenges to inspire writers to set a daily goal and make an honest attempt at it 6 days a week.

The Surgeon General Recommends!

I remembered reading about this last year when I started following her on the Twitters, and thought it was a great idea. I started January 1st as my new year’s goal and so far have been pretty good at keeping up, so I thought I’d put her little badge up on my blog. Motivational!

Anyhow, I’ll have a much longer post on NaNo come that time about why I do it, why I think it’s a good idea, the best way to make it work out and why people who are superiority snots should keep their smug faces shut.

Why yes, I did have a terrible last couple of days at work! And I do have a terrible headache! Why do you ask?

One thought on “Little Miss S is Worth 1000 Words

Leave a Reply

