Little Miss S Goes Open Source

Windows, we’re breaking up.

Sudo ditch Windows

It’s poop, virussy, and I hate it. You see, my other computer is a Mac. I was an early adopter (1994), then a late re-adopter (2007), and now I adore my little Shiroyan. I’ve never had a problem with it, and I’ve had it for almost 5 years now. How many computers can you say that about?! Anyway, I wish I could say the same about my netbook. Currently, I’m arguing with a rootkit virus that has pretty much bricked my netbook for the purposes of anything password-protected or purchase-based. I have done everything but nuke my drive and last week I decided “fuck this. I’m going Linux.”

Basically, I only use my netbook for writing and the occasional internetting so I’m not sure how I managed to get this virus. I don’t download shady stuff, I don’t torrent on my PCs, and our network is protected and firewalled.

After consulting with a longtime friend, RM^2, who once helped me dual boot my old PC, I scooted my tattooed butt to the Ubuntu site and am downloading it as we speak so I may wish a fond “fuck you” to this buggy, crashy POS known as Windows 7. If it wasn’t still going to be on my netbook, I’d give the hard drive a kick in the butt on the way out.

Just got back from my doctor’s office as well, and let me tell you how much fun that was. Not very, that’s how much. My usual nurse wasn’t there – either usual nurse, actually – and instead I had a ditz who had no idea who I was, acted shocked by my previous blood pressures, and didn’t like the way her handwriting looked on my chart so she got another sheet and tore up the first one so she could rewrite it, then had to retake my weight and vitals because she forgot to copy them down before she destroyed the first copy. PRO TIP: If you want to make sure your patients don’t get stressed out and raise their blood pressure, don’t shriek when you look at their chart. It’s bad form. My blood pressure was much better, though. My Vitamin D is still way too low but I am slowly mending!

Now I am going to go had something to eat, then make my USB stick and commence the installery. As the Gods are my witnesses, I will not be subjected to the blue screen several times a day again!

One thought on “Little Miss S Goes Open Source

Leave a Reply

