Little Miss S is Completely Inappropriate

Oh man. Let me tell you about being inappropriate. You make one or two comments about someone being a food Nazi and suddenly you’re worse than Hitler. Talk about a recursive Godwin loop.

LolGodwin

Context: the weight loss contest at work is not going well. All participants have gained weight and are summarily whinging about how fat and disgusting they are and how they really have to buckle down and eat less. I tried one last time to explain to them that trying to achieve an arbitrary number on a scale is  ultimately destructive but I was voted down, so I got my revenge by using Spotify to play Return of the Mack, End of the Road and Ice, Ice Baby.

While they were screaming and bleeding from the ears, I did a little 90’s dance routine and considered how much more important self esteem is. You have to do what makes you happy and feel good, not try to fit into someone else’s mold because you’re only going to lose what little respect you have for yourself and be miserable to boot. So what I’m really saying is go ahead and be inappropriate. I am. LET’S GO TO THE VIDEO.

Went to pick up my (many) medications today. It took longer than I thought because I sort of forgot I hadn’t dropped off my newest blood pressure medication scrip. Oops. Mister E and I wandered around the store and bought a new Clean Eating magazine, out of which which I already found three recipes I want to make. By the time we got our stuff, though, I was freaking starving. We had originally planned to go to Jason’s, but on the way out we saw a place called Hearthstone BakeryCafe and decided to try it instead. Best. Decision. Ever.

When you stare into the abyss...

I decided the best way to go for less sodium was a veggie sandwich with no chips, so I selected the portabella panini. I would share a picture of it with you except it leapt into my mouth and disappeared before I could load my camera. Seriously, after I picked off the tomato it was amazeballs.

After that it was off to the grocery store, where a gentleman convinced me to try some delicious juice. Also amazeballs. It’s pomegranate berry, and the resveratrol levels in it are ridiculous. Not to mention the vitamins C and B12. Excellent for my blood pressure and my crap immune system! Seriously yummy juice, and since it’s not sweetened I’m thinking of putting it in with some blackberries, soymilk and ice and blending it into a smoothie.

"I'm filled with arils!"

Also, I am amazed and happy to report that this morning I put on a pair of jeans I haven’t worn since I lived in Chicago. Combined with the Margot and the Nuclear So and So’s shirt I haven’t worn in almost 3 years, I am an unstoppable force for good and for awesome in this world. Isn’t it fascinating what one can do when one turns their attention to eating healthier and letting go of guilt instead of depriving themselves of food and shaming other people into doing the same?

Leave a Reply

