I Have Both a Lime and a Coconut

If you  really love someone, give them the gift of fresh coconut and pineapple. If you really have a hate-on for them, also give them a knife and tell them to cut those fuckers up themselves. Don’t get me wrong, I love coconut and pineapple so I am willing to work for them. Lobster, on the other hand, I am not. There are many reasons for this; I don’t like the texture, they are basically giant sea roaches, and I think we as humans have evolved far enough where we shouldn’t have to work that hard for our food.

Also, they’re evil.

Coconuts are worth it, though. Today was our co-op week, which meant it was time for us to run ourselves down to the Bountiful Baskets pickup site and get our produce. I was excited because it was my first time going down there with Mister E and also I had paid extra for the tropical fruit pack.

Don’t get me wrong here. I have no problem with people bringing their kids places. However, bringing three kids to a place where you’ll have to wait in line for at least 15 minutes followed by people trying to collect baskets of produce and volunteers trying to look names up on clipboards is a little trying. Especially when both parents are present and there is a playground right there. Our pickup site is at an elementary school. Why would you force your kids to stand still and deal with them running into the parking lot when there is a perfectly good swingset and slide calling to them? So you can stand around bragging to the other parents how many miles per gallon your hybrid SUV gets? No wonder the kids are all antsy.

But I digress. Seeing as how we’re broke as shit, Mister E and I decided that it was a good idea to keep on with the co-op because we save so much money on produce this way. Observe:

Nomtastic!

That is a pineapple, lettuce, beets, strawberries, green beans, new potatoes, tomatoes, green apples, artichokes, bananas, mangoes and a turnip. Not sure what I’m going to do with that turnip but if I have to I’ll watch some old Blackadder episodes and get some ideas or something.

Oh, but that isn’t all.

A trip to the islands, brah.

That would be another pineapple, more mangoes, a handful of limes, a handful of kiwis, a bag of fresh mint, a plantain, vanilla beans and a COCONUT. Again, not sure about what I’m doing with that vanilla bean, but that’s why we have the internet. I was terribly excited about this because I love coconuts with a passion. All of this bounty cost us a total of $27.00, and I am very tempted to add up how much it all would have cost us when we go to the store tomorrow. I have an exciting recipe for beef mango curry with tostones I want to try and the only thing I need to buy is the meat.

However, I learned a very important thing today. Coconuts are a sometimes food. This is because that bastard was so hard to get into that after this morning’s near-murderous C25K session, I needed a nap. Serious upper body workout, and Mister E was the one who managed to crack it open in the end. Worth it, though. Totally worth it.

Unlike lobsters. Those things are shifty as hell.

Leave a Reply

