More Stitchery, Less Bitchery

There are two hobbies that make me happy. One of them is cross-stitching. I go through phases where I make crafts and such, and cross-stitching is the one I keep returning to. It’s kind of funny how I got started on it. I used to have a subscription to a crochet magazine because I used to crochet a lot before my hands started hurting. When it was discontinued, it was replaced by a cross-stitch magazine.

I was annoyed. I didn’t want some stinky sewing magazine. I was getting ready to cancel my subscription when my friend Jenny L (not the Bloggess) in Colorado bought a mini counted cross-stitch kit. I decided to buy one too and we watched bad horror movies while we did them. It was super-fun and I decided to try a few pieces from the magazine. Then I was in love. Ever since then I’ve been an idiot for stitching.

It’s all counted stitching, which means I have to look at the book and put in the stitches accordingly, rather than being stamped on the cloth. This makes it harder but it’s not the hardest – stitching over two threads is harder and I’m not quite there yet. Here’s one I’m especially proud of. Took me 5 years on and off working on it to finish.

So proud.

Over the last week I’ve been working on a couple of pieces for friends of mine from Band Back Together and their happiness over them is my dose of happy for today. I love making things for people for the same reason I love giving gifts. I love seeing their reaction, knowing that I made their day and came up with the right picture or colors or theme. It’s much more fun than making stuff for myself, though I do like doing that every now and then. This is a picture of the one I plan to do next:

Another 5 year plan.

And here are the presents I made for the ladies!

Ezekiel 25:17

This one was for BecominNeurotic! She loves blues/teals/turquoise, flowers and Pulp Fiction. This was what I came up with and let me tell you what, lettering is a lot harder than it looks. Mainly because of the spacing, which I usually jack up anyway.

He’s got the music in his soul!

This one is for TiLaMiLa, who mentioned she used to have budgies when she was younger and would like to have one again. I told her this one was quiet and sweet. And a boy. You can tell by his blue cere (the spot above the beak), and yes I am a bird nerd.

BN and TLML are my dose of happy because they care for me and support me whenever I’m down, and I hope I’ve been able to show them how much they mean to me with these little bits of fun and joy. ❤

5 thoughts on “More Stitchery, Less Bitchery

  1. Wow! I’ve always liked the look of cross-stitch but haven’t gotten around to actually trying it yet as I’m super intimidated. I especially love your five year piece, that is amazing!

  2. I am going to have to pick up cross-stitching soon… Maybe we’ll have to have a hang out and you can tutor me 🙂 I love my gift and can’t wait for it to get here!! I’m glad that we found each other through the band, you are so precious to me!

Leave a Reply

