The Pawn


This weekend’s Trifextra Challenge was to write a poem in 33 words, 3 lines or 3 stanzas. It is community judged, so if you like it, please consider visiting the site by clicking on the above link or button and voting for it! Judging closes 12 hours after the submissions close, which is 7:00PM tomorrow (CST). Thanks in advance!

~

I was too nice.
Searing unkindnesses never fired from my mouth
blistering the skin around hearts
as easily as they did from yours
in moments upon days

I was too honest.
Oily untruths never slipped from my tongue
broken mirrors pointed every way but inward
the way they did from yours,
smooth and without pause.

I was too tired.
You’d slowly sapped my secret self
Relentlessly ravaged my reserves
Until I was unable to fight.
I turned. Bit. paid the price.

7 thoughts on “The Pawn

  1. Broken mirrors pointed every way but inward…

    That expresses something all of us have seen in others (and hopefully not in ourselves). And, it expresses it perfectly. This whole poem is so well done…

    I also like how the three stanzas are organized into the three characteristics: nice, honest, and tired.

    This really is very good 🙂

  2. I love this section:

    “broken mirrors pointed every way but inward
    the way they did from yours,
    smooth and without pause.

    I was too tired.
    You’d slowly sapped my secret self”

  3. This makes me think of a woman (a specific one, but I’ll leave her unnamed) trapped in an abusive relationship who thinks she’s staying above the abuser’s level by never stooping to those abusive tactics, only to find she’s been sapped of life, having never really fought for it.

  4. Thank you so much for linking up to Trifextra this weekend. The challenge this weekend will be judged by the community. So please come back to the Trifecta home page and click the stars next to the three posts you most enjoyed. You only have until Monday at 8 am EST, so hurry!

Leave a Reply

