Foodie Pen Pal for May!

Guess what time it is?! Yes, it’s Foodie Pen Pal Reveal Day! Hooray!

The Lean Green Bean
First, some details. Click on over if you want to sign up, but you have to be sure and get your info in by June 4th!
-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!

My Pen Pal this month was Lorna! This is the entire spread she sent me. I was so incredibly spoiled I can hardly believe it!

First things first were the drinks! A box of black tea and a malt soda from Russia. I’m really interested to try the soda because I’ve never thought of what local drinks there might be in other countries except Japan, and I’ve drank most of those already.

These look really good – sprouted sunflower seeds! They’re a lot less sodium-filled than you’d think too, which is exciting. I love nuts and seeds. Mister E is interested in trying the kasha. We’re thinking of baking some apples and making them into a breakfast cereal.

Tiny goods! More nut butter packs, which makes me happy because the others were so good and these are two new flavors. I’ve never tried the hazelnut butter, and the other almond butters were plain and maple. I ADORE Stretch Island fruit leathers and promised Mister E he could have the one with the mango. I already consumed the apple and apricot ones. Ahem. Also, already consumed the chocolate bar up there. It was freaking delicious. Tasted like a Cadbury Creme Egg with a hint of caramel.

Finally (and these didn’t make it into the other pics for some reason) but not least, pretty dark chocolates! These are fancy-looking and from her favorite chocolate store so I’m looking forward to trying them.

There were also supposed to be some kale chips but she said she burned them. No fear, though, she sent me the recipe! I’m not usually a fan of kale but I’m always up for trying something new. Thank you SO much, Lorna, for the wonderful package and for the recipe! It was awesome and I hope you got as spoiled as I did. Also, thank you Lindsey at the Lean Green Bean for putting together another great month of Foodie Pen Pal goodness!

5 thoughts on “Foodie Pen Pal for May!

  1. I was never a big fan of kale but recently tried them as kale chips and loved them! I even got my husband to eat them who doesn’t like healthy things at all and says from now on he will eat those instead of Lays chips!

Leave a Reply

