The Saga Continues

For the love of Peeps.

Pusheen has the right idea.

You have no idea what has happened. I know this sounds like it should start out Dear Penthouse Forum, you’ll never believe what happened to me the other day… but it’s not. It’s a horror among horrors, at least to me.

I was working hard on my story for Camp NaNoWriMo and decided it was time for my afternoon nap. I take a lot of those recently – it’s a combination of the Ativan and the crushing depression – and weekends are no different. While sleeping, I had the best dream, one I thought would make an awesome short story. When I woke up, I set about writing it down quickly so I could remember it for later and possibly turn it into a downloadable story or something. Then I looked up and found that I’d written almost 2000 words and was starting to get into it.

3000 words into my original story, I shelved it and started on the new story with nothing but a vague outline of an idea and a couple of characters I named by looking at my DVD rack. I’ve heard stories of this happening to people before, but not me. I’m a planner. I spent a week getting together the outline for a story I’d shelved a while back, hoping that I’d be able to use CNNWM to get it out of my head. I still want the damn thing out of my head but this one has shoved its way to the front.

As any writer knows, sometimes you have to just run with your inspiration. If you ignore it, you run the risk of missing out on a great idea. Sometimes when you create a character and get into their head, they refuse to behave themselves and go off in a completely different direction than you intended. Also a time you have to let it run wild. As Jack Lemmon said in My Fellow Americans:

Our dreams are like our children; they must be…allowed to run free.

That is precisely how I feel about my writing. Now if you’ll excuse me, I need to get back to it. Tomorrow will likely be an hilarious anecdote because I want to get a head start. Good times!

Leave a Reply

