I Heart Scrivener

Since they’re sponsoring Camp NaNoWriMo, I thought I’d take a second to tell you about Scrivener. It is, in my opinion, one of the best writing programs in the world.

It used to only be available for Mac, now it’s also available for Windows and is in beta for Linux. This is excellent news because everyone should use it.

It’s not just for fiction writers, either. There are templates for research papers, screenplays, even graphic novels. It’s so versatile, you don’t really need more than one program (which some of my non-Scrivener friends have) and I’ve turned some people on to it by explaining that any writer can use it. Some people were under the impression it was only for novelists.

Borrowed from the Scrivener site.

My personal experience began as a result of NaNoWriMo, which is sponsored in part by Scrivener. If you’re a NaNo winner, you get a code that allows you to get 50% off on the license but I would have easily paid the full $45 once I’d tried it out and fallen in love with it.

I was super-resistant to using writing software at the beginning, just like I was resistant to touchscreen phones. Now I’m in love with the thing. It helps me outline my ideas, visualize them, and work them out when I’m stuck. I adore the index card system that lets me move scenes and ideas around so I can make sure they’re in the right place and move them easily if they aren’t.

There are still things I haven’t quite figured out about it. I’m not sure how the compilation mode works or what some of the buttons do, but whenever I need a function I skip on over to the help section and look it up. So far I haven’t had any problems with it or had a question that couldn’t be answered by the in-program help.

I highly recommend Scrivener to any writer; aspiring writer, successful writer, student, everyone. You can download a trial of it here and see what I’m talking about. I recommend doing so the month of NaNoWriMo if you’re planning on doing it because you can really see its power when you’re under a deadline or working with vague ideas. Trust me on this one, it’s a whole other world that’s been opened up to me.

Leave a Reply

