Postcard Love

I had a happy accident a few months ago. One of my Postcrossing cards that was on its way to Germany got dropped on the way to the post office and though I looked everywhere in my car and in my apartment, I could never find it. Because I have had my opinion of humanity ground into the dirt, I immediately assumed that no one would put it in the box if they found it and decided that I would err on the side of caution and send another.

Then I got a private message from the person I sent them to, about three weeks after the second card I sent was registered. She said that he got both cards and was extremely pleased. I sent a message back saying that I thought the first card got lost on the way to the post office and that I was glad both cards arrived as planned. She wrote back again saying that he was going on a trip in July and asked if I would like a card from Legoland or Neuschwanstein. I said I would be delighted to have one from either place and I was looking forward to it.

I haven’t had the best track record with people keeping promises to me, so I had serious doubts about whether or not I was going to get a card and promptly forgot about it. So it was a really nice surprise yesterday when I opened my mailbox and found this:

It’s super-cute! She got me one from Schloss Neuschwanstein, the castle you see in the picture. Here is some stuff about Neuschwanstein for your pleasure, it’s gorgeous! It was actually the inspiration for Disney’s famous Sleeping Beauty castle, so it might look familiar to you.

I sent her a message thanking her for the card, of course. What I couldn’t write was how much it meant to me that she remembered me. Less happy is the fact that my desktop computer isn’t cooperating, which means I couldn’t scan the postcard and had to take a photo of it instead. Bleh.

On a related note, I got a message yesterday from another Postcrossing user from Japan! I wrote the postcard in Japanese and she said it was very good! I was so happy to hear that because apart from reading a little manga, I haven’t used my Japanese since college. Bolstered by her praise (I’ve always wanted to write that), I contacted a friend of mine in Japan to see if one of his students would be interested in a pen pal. My college roommate’s mother used to write to me and it was really helpful. We’ll see!

One thought on “Postcard Love

Leave a Reply

