Impatience is Not a Virtue

I am one of the most impatient people I know. This is not a good thing.

The longer I have to wait for something, the more ridiculous I get about it. The perfect example is Persona 4 Arena. It’s not coming out until August 8th and I’m so antsy about it that it’s almost tragic. Seriously. August 8th. That’s less that a week away and I’m about to lose my mind waiting.

I’ve managed to find a way to buy it that is sadly going to mean eating a lot of ramen, but I’m going to be able to play it as soon as it comes out. I’m double excited because it is a fighting game and I’ve been on Mister E to get me a fighting game for about six months now.

The thing is that I have terrible impulse control. I always have. The checkout area is deadly to me and I have to argue with myself every time I go near it because I don’t need any Tide Wipes or chili lime dried mango slices. I have to hide my own debit cards from myself so I don’t lose my mind on Amazon.com every time a new manga comes out. It isn’t that I don’t know I’m doing it, I just have no desire to stop doing it.

When I was younger, I also had a very hard time saying no. I still have a hard time with it if I have a headache (which is oddly enough when my impulse control is at its worst), probably because I just don’t want to deal with the potential attempts to sell me on whatever it is I have tried to refuse. I’ve cancelled a lot of magazine subscriptions during the three day “change your mind period” in my time because door-to-door salespeople seem to be able to zero in on the fact that my head is killing me and I just want to get rid of them as quickly as possible.

But back to P4 Arena. Up until about a month ago, I didn’t know anything about Persona 4 other than Special K loves it. I vaguely knew about Persona 3 because of all the hand-wringing going on by parents who were upset about the use of the gun-like Evoker to summon Personas (see fig. 1).

The Endurance Run changed that and now all of a sudden I’m one of those grating Persona 4 otaku that watches the Persona x Lucky*Star MAD at least once a day. Mister E is going to divorce me before we even get married. Which, naturally leads to me pacing back and forth and watching every trailer and gameplay video I can get my hands on and yammering on and on about the hilarious and awesome move lists (case in point: “The Man Series: Brofist”) because it gives me something to do while I’m very impatiently waiting for P4 Arena to come out.

But come on, seriously, how could I not be excited about a fighting game that looks like this:

Leave a Reply

