Foodie Pen Pal For July!

The Lean Green Bean
First, some details. Click on over if you want to sign up, but you have to be sure and get your info in by July 4th!
-On the 5th of every month, you will receive your penpal pairing via email. It will be your responsibility to contact your penpal and get their mailing address and any other information you might need like allergies or dietary restrictions.
-You will have until the 15th of the month to put your box of goodies in the mail. On the last day of the month, you will post about the goodies you received from your penpal!
-The boxes are to be filled with fun foodie things, local food items or even homemade treats! The spending limit is $15. The box must also include something written. This can be anything from a note explaining what’s in the box, to a fun recipe…use your imagination!
My pen pal this month was Amanda C. from Houston – really close to Lamesville! This month’s package was really late, courtesy of the US Postal Service, whose motto is: “What? It’s Not Our Fault. Suck It Up, Abigail.” My FPP sent it on July 11th, as evidenced by the postmark, but I got it yesterday. It was worth the wait, though, because deliciousness was waiting for me when I opened it.
I think the word you’re looking for is “omnomnomnom.” So many delicious things this month, including my favorite Yogavive apple chips! We haven’t had a chance to get to Whole Foods to buy more of them so I was over the moon when I heard the crinkle-rustle of the bag when I unwrapped it. I’ve only had the strawberry-apple ones and I am pleased to report that the plain ones are just as delicious. I can’t wait to try other flavors, they’re amazing. If I bought a case there would be some ridiculousness and the authorities would find me dead with a bag of apple chips in my hand and ten more around me. David Caruso would put on sunglasses. “We usually only see cases like this in…the Big Apple.”
YEOOOOOOOOOOOOW.
I’m looking forward to trying the chili dark chocolate! I’ve always looked at it when I was at the store but never bought it and I’m really excited! I have a feeling RJ is going to want some next week, he’s a big dark chocolate fan, and I can share with M, who is vegan. The perfect snack!
Little snacks! People keep sending me these little nut butter packets and I keep welcoming them with open arms. I haven’t tried the vanilla yet but this calls for apples! Spreading them on apples is a super-lovely treat and always a nice change. Makes me sound like an apple fiend, but there you have it. I’m also excited about the bars (more apples!) because I don’t have any quick snacks at the house right now and these are lovely and healthy to boot.
Non-food items! Pretty journals are always a hit here at Chez Geek, and the little spreading knife will be very helpful in the coming Applepocalypse. You can’t see it, but it says “Spread the Love.” So cute! As an added bonus, she wrapped everything in pretty tissue paper that I’m going to save because that is what I do and it has been very useful to me in the past. The cupcake paper is especially adorable.
Everything is so wonderful! I love my foodie pen pals and Amanda is awesome! I’m taking a month off this month because of the wedding and such, but I’m hoping to be back in the mix next month. I love getting mail and seeing what other people pick for me is so much fun. Yay!
Leave a Reply

