A Kind of Therapy

I have a small dose of happiness today. Mister E and I have decided that once I get into therapy and start getting better, a good idea for me would be to do something out of the house. That involves finding a safe place where I won’t be surrounded by triggers, and where I’ll be able to focus on getting better through helping others.

Our first thought (actually his) was something with animals, but because of everything that’s happened I’m afraid that it would be one big trigger. I’d also be put in a position where there would be the constant possibility of seeing the people who started this horrible chain of events and that can’t happen if I’m ever going to improve. Instead, I want to volunteer at Morgan’s Wonderland.

Photo from Morgan’s Wonderland

Morgan’s Wonderland is one of the bright spots in the town where I live. Its mission is “to establish a special place where smiles and laughter make wonderful memories with family members, caregivers and friends. To build a place where the common element of play creates an atmosphere of inclusion for those with and without disabilities, encouraging and allowing everyone to gain a greater understanding of one another.”

I’ve wanted to volunteer there since I moved here, but because of work I’d never been able to. Now, I can. As an added bonus, the people who did this to me are so self-centered and cruel to those who are different that the idea of such a wonderful park would never even occur to them. It’s not just a safe place for those who come to the park, it’s a safe place for someone who wants to volunteer. Mister E is even willing to take me out there and back.

Provided they’re willing to accept someone with a mental illness to volunteer, I’d really like to help there. I know there’s a possibility they wouldn’t want me because I’m crazy, but I’m prepared for that. It’s worth trying. I think that by helping others, I can get a little better myself. We’re looking at October for me to try.

It’s tiny and it’s in the future, but it’s something to look forward to.

What’s your happy for today? Share it over at Band Back Together!

Leave a Reply

