BRB, Gettin’ Hitched.

TODAY’S BROADCAST WAS PREVIOUSLY TAPED.

In case you haven’t heard me gibbering for the last two weeks, Mister E and I are getting married tomorrow. That means that as you read this, I’m either entertaining The Dad, M, and RJ, cleaning my house in preparation to see the same or having a massive panic attack under the dining room table. The last thing would be huge, since the cat who has borrowed my blog on several occasions pooped under there. [No comment. – Mima]

I’ll tell you a story. It’s very possible you’ve heard it before, but bear with me.

When I was sixteen, I was in some very dark places. My best friend at the time, M, decided she’d had enough of it and took me to a party almost against my will. I put on my finest black shirt, pulled out my clove cigarettes and went while I complained to her about the unfairness of life and how she was the worst friend ever. The party was being given by her friend from another high school as a combination spring break and birthday party.

That’s when I met Mister E for the first time. It was his house and his party, so when M introduced me to him I was as polite as one can be when they’ve been hit over the head with the love stick. I remember very clearly thinking as he handed me a beer that I needed to get to know him better. He tells me that he very clearly thought he needed to kiss me. It all worked out when we talked for a long time on his back porch and then made out.

We dated for about seven or eight months, then I made the idiot mistake of breaking up with him after his family moved to Lamesville and I wasn’t able to deal with the long-distance relationship. It’s always been a huge regret of mine, as I’m sure that numerous ex-boyfriends can attest. Even when we were broken up, I talked about him, about the good times we had and the jokes we shared.

I went to school in Lamesville and tried to contact him, but he didn’t seem to want anything to do with me and it made me terribly sad so I stopped. Then five or so years later he found me via an online message board wanting to see if I was happy. We struck up a tentative friendship and I said I’d like to meet for coffee, at which point he disappeared again. I was sad again but I knew that it was my own fault so I couldn’t say much about it.

Then, while I was living in Chicago, he friended me on Facebook. This time I wasn’t about to let him get away. I friended him back and within a day we were texting each other constantly. Not long afterward, we decided to give the long-distance thing a try again. When I lost my job due to the crappy economy, I moved back to Lamesville to be with him for good.

We celebrated our third anniversary in May and have been living together most of that time. Sometimes we have our problems, like any couple, but we knew from the start that this was going to be our “happily ever after.” So earlier this year we made it official and got engaged. After I went crazy, we decided to get married in the small civil ceremony we’re having tomorrow to minimize our stress.

That’s where the old story ends and the new story begins. Every day we’re together I’m grateful for Mister E and for everything we share. Every day I consider myself incredibly lucky that we found each other again and incredibly lucky that I have someone who loves me so much. Things have been rough lately but our relationship is as strong as ever. After so much, I know that we’re going to be together forever this time. I don’t know much these days, but I do know that I love this guy and that no matter what happens, I’m not going to regret it.

Guess what my Dose of Happy is going to be on Monday?

One thought on “BRB, Gettin’ Hitched.

  1. So, so, so, so, SO happy for you both.
    I remember watching as this all unfolded, and it made me giggle even then, so for it to have progressed to this point makes me grin like an idiot. Time differences are a pain, so I’ll just have to celebrate today (my 18th) and tomorrow (yours) to make sure I cover all the bases. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

