The Happy Couple

I’ve got a mega-dose of happiness today! Saturday morning, I got married to Mister E after an extremely long and broken road.

Much to the surprise of several people, I made the decision to take his last name. After it took me forever to change my name on a zillion documents after RJ and I got divorced, I swore I would never do it again but this is different.

See, when I was in high school I used to do the same thing that a lot of people do. I wrote my name and his last name on my notebooks like a lovesick teenager. Which I was. I wished more than anything that we would be married and looked forward to the day when we’d be a family. So it was my choice to become Mrs. E and not one that was forced on me, and as a feminist I believe very much in a woman’s ability to choose what she wants; whether or not to have children, whether or not to work and mother, whether or not to have Oreos for breakfast.

So my happy for today – and probably for the next several years! – is that 18 years after being introduced, I married Mister E and am going to take every opportunity to remember how lucky I am.

You’ve got happy today too, I know it! Go over to Band Back Together and share it!

Leave a Reply

