The Great Outside

Yesterday was an interesting day for your friendly neighborhood recluse. Yesterday morning I decided to go a little crazy (more than normal, y’know) and go for a walk in the neighborhood. And when I say that, I mean it a little loosely. You see, we live in an apartment complex that’s situated on the side of a highway access road. So to get to anything even related to a neighborhood, I have to walk up to the corner store and make a right. A little ways down and I’m in a pretty cute little area just in front of an elementary school.

According to the route I mapped, it was just short of 3 miles and it took me almost an hour to walk. It was a nice walk, though, and much to my relief I did not have a panic attack or get lost. I did bring along a bottle of Ativan and some water just in case there was a problem, and made sure there was a path I could cut down if I had to take it.

I’m pleased to report that I did not freak out. It also felt a lot shorter than I thought, and it was pretty nice outside so it was actually really enjoyable. I walked at a leisurely pace because I have a tendency to get shin splints when I walk too fast over uneven terrain, but I’m looking forward to strengthening my calves so I can walk a little faster.

While walking, I also came across a church that had one of those meditative labyrinths that said anyone was welcome at any time so if I ever have a tough decision to make I’ll know where to go to wander around for a while.

After I came back from walking, we watched a little bit of Deadly Premonition and then went to the pool. I’d been asking to go ever since school started back up so I wouldn’t have to deal with kids in my water and today was the day we’d agreed to go splash around. We went to the “back” pool and it was completely empty except for about a hundred bees, which Mister E carefully removed for me (no easy task without his glasses on) so I could swim comfortably. We also found a swimming ring, so it was pretty fun even though I almost whacked both of us in the head with the ring.

I also got a sunburn. You heard me. I was in the pool with Mister E for an hour and my shoulders and the back of my neck are sunburned. How the frak that happened (more accurately, how I missed them when I dumped a bottle of SPF 55 on my entire body) is beyond me but I’m like a lobster now.

This is why I do not go outside.

Leave a Reply

