Descent into NaNoLand

Well, it’s Day Two of NaNoWriMo and I’m already having a hard time. Yesterday it was like pulling teeth getting the words out and I’m starting to wonder if it was a good idea trying to do this this year with everything else going on inside my head.

Thing is, the last two years I’ve done it I was also working full time. This year I’m not working at all and I’m not sure I’m going to be able to finish.

I’m not in the best headspace these days. Writing has been incredibly hard for me ever since all this nonsense happened and I’m beginning to wonder if maybe one book was all I had in me. The last time I had a mental breakdown I wrote a novel. This time I’m barely able to get out of bed.

Still, I’m determined to try. As hard as it is to get the words out, I’m going to keep trying in the hopes I’ll be able to get something resembling a story out of my head. I need to write. I need to do this.

And I also need people to quit acting like NaNo is some terrible thing that no respectable writer would ever attempt. My Twitter is spread between people who are also doing NaNo and people who are posting nasty little graphics that say things like “anyone can be a writer if you lower your standards.”

I really don’t have much else to say at the moment. As you can probably tell, I’m having trouble writing.

Leave a Reply

