Thanksgiving Thanks

I don’t really like Thanksgiving. It reminds me of some things I don’t like to think about, like when I posted the standard complaining about how I hated getting together with my ex’s family because I felt out of place, it got taken the wrong way and all the members of his family got together to tell me online how much they never liked me and what a terrible person I am. Because apparently they never read anything by anyone else ever about how people feel about holidays.

However, this is the fourth Thanksgiving I’ll be spending with Mister E and with every one I feel more and more like I have something to be thankful for. I’m thankful for the fact that I have people like his mom who I don’t have to pretend to like to hang out with. I’m thankful that we get to spend time together and hang out for a little while before he has to go to work. And most of all I’m thankful that today I get to eat a delicious holiday meal without putting on pants.

See, we’re having Thanksgiving with just the two of us this year because this and that happened, and his mom is sick. Rather than getting a pizza from our favorite Christmas Pizza restaurant, we decided to make some stuff. Mister E bought a turkey breast and we’re making roasted root vegetables, mashed potatoes and gravy, stuffing, green bean casserole and veggie mix. We’re going to have leftovers forever.

Unfortunately he has to go in to work tonight (and an hour early because his store is one of the ones starting their Black Friday nonsense on Thursday), but we’ll get to spend a little time together before then and that makes me happy in the place where my allegedly missing heart is supposed to be.

That’s one more thing I’m thankful for, though. I’m not going to be at or dealing with Black Friday. Only crazy people go in for all that nonsense.

Leave a Reply

