Jailbreak!

One of my goals for the new year was to start running again. I’ve been following the Couch-to-5K running plan again and I am pleased to say I’ve gotten further on it than my last two tries, even though I’ve currently had to go backward after some anesthesia and a minor procedure set me back a little.

I feel good, much stronger and fitter than I was when I started this whole thing. Even on the week I couldn’t go to the gym because my car was back in the shop, I did my jogging on the crappy treadmill in our apartment’s  fitness center (it’s not that crappy, the suspension just isn’t as good as the ones at the gym). I’m determined to do it this time, so I’ve set myself a goal.

THIS.

It’s called the Jailbreak Run.

It’s running, yes, but there’s much more to it than just a normal 5K. There are obstacles. Things like a mud crawl, a cargo net, a water slide, that sort of thing. When I showed Mister E the interactive map he said it looked like a lot of fun. In fact, he said if we had enough money he would do it with me. Leave it to him to want to simulate breaking out of jail.

The money is where the whole thing started to fall apart on me, though.

You see, the Jailbreak is pretty huge in terms of setup and a portion of the fee goes toward charity. That means instead of the regular $25 or $30 that a 5K costs, this one is a whopping $60. For our budget, that’s the same as saying $1000. It’s just not something we can afford. I was bummed but took to Twitter and said I need 60 people to send me a dollar so I can run in this, not expecting a response.

Sometimes people surprise you. I was sent a total of $42 by my Twitter friends, which was enough for Mister E to say we could make up the difference and I could run! I can’t begin to tell you how excited I am to actually be able to do something as wild and crazy as the Jailbreak.

I am fully prepared to be the very last one running but somehow I don’t see people booing me. It’ll be like that episode of the Golden Girls where Sophia runs in a marathon. With her wicker purse. Even if no one cheers for me, I’m gonna keep at it because I refuse to let down my friends who are supporting me. On Friday when I felt a little tired (around minute 16 of 20), I kept pushing forward because I knew I couldn’t let them down. Even if I’m the very last one over the finish line, I’m going to be proud of myself and collect my medal of honor. And of course you know what this means.

I need to get me a wicker purse.

Leave a Reply

