That’s the Truth, Ruth

Hmm, maybe I should have posted that I was a huge fan of The Big Bopper as a kid. I totally was, you know. I wore out two cassettes of his music and pestered my aunt constantly to listen to her old albums. I even read his biography. Like I said, huge fan. Huge.

Anyway, here I am to tell you what my lie was. First I will tell you the truths.

* We once kept a starling in our living room.

TRUE. When we lived in Fort Worth, RJ and I found a starling chick. Actually, someone brought the ugly little creature to my work and asked if we could save it. It was the first bird I ever raised and I was fond of it. Not knowing if it was a boy or a girl, I named it Shammy because the fuzz on its head was as soft as a shammy that you use on a car. Once I’d raised it, though, I discovered that everyone hates starlings. I couldn’t pawn it off on anyone; none of the bird rescues wanted it, and Texas Parks and Wildlife told me to shove off. It also refused to leave no matter how many times we released it, so we kept it in a flight cage in our living room, letting it out to fly around the house and steal our fruit. We later found out she was female. She didn’t live long but she had a good life.

* I danced with the high school teacher I had a crush on at prom.

TRUE. From the time I was a freshman I had a massive, poetry-writing, desperate crush on my English teacher, Mr. C. He was one of those teachers that was really awesome, had great ways to get students involved in the subject, and listened when you had problems. Naturally I went crazy for him, took covert pictures of him, and hung around his room whenever I could. I even shipped us in a story. What can I say, I was fifteen. I maintained this crush all the way through high school and actually had two pictures of us together – one from Open House when I was a freshman, one from the Senior Picnic – and lost my mind when he gave me one of his old senior cards. Then, when I was having a really shitty prom, he asked me if I wanted to dance with him. Guess what I said? And no, it wasn’t just a stream of babbling. Recently he messaged me on Facebook to ask how I was and what I’d been up to. I am not ashamed to say that I squealed like a little girl.

* Ray Bradbury gave me advice on writing.

TRUE. Somehow my middle school got Ray Bradbury to come talk to us when I was in 7th or 8th grade, and I was extremely pumped that whole week. Even then I was writing stories, fanfics, and even a novella for one class. So it was with shaking hands that I handed him my copy of The Illustrated Man to sign, and a deep breath before I asked him “can you give me any advice about writing?” Much to my surprise and excitement, he took the time to talk to me while he was signing books for the other kids. He told me that he rarely wrote down notes, that he just let his ideas roll around in his head until he was ready to actually write them. He said that there’s no one right way to write, that you just put down what’s in your head and let other people decide if it’s good or not. He said the most important thing was to always keep writing and to enjoy it. Even though I write down copious notes and background, I have to say that I took all of his advice to heart and still use it to this day.

* I bought two hundred dollars worth of manga for my birthday.

As much as this seems like it would be true, it’s not. The most I’ve spent on manga at one time was a hundred and fifty bucks, but I would have spent more if I’d had it. One of these days I’ll hit two hundred, just not anytime soon. Right now I’m lucky to scrape together fifteen bucks for the latest Afterschool Charisma.

Well, there you have it. My (long-ass) explanation of my truths and lie. If you have any questions, comments, large rocks to throw, or sandwich cookies to share, please do so. I’m gonna go listen to The Big Bopper now.

One thought on “That’s the Truth, Ruth

  1. I love these tid-bits about you. It’s like a secret window that someone’s left open just enough so we can see a hint of a few things that make up the room.

    I hope that one day you’ll be able to go and spend crazy sums on your Manga.

Leave a Reply

