iPod or Phone?

Okay, so here’s my dilemma. I need to take some tunes for Saturday’s Fiesta Fandango (I’m already hyperventilating about it) and I’m kind of having a hard time deciding what to do. So I’m asking the advice of my lovely friends on Twitter and in the blog world to help me make the tough choices.

iPod

Pros

  • lightweight
  • durable
  • don’t have to worry about OS crashing
  • easy to switch playlists

Cons

  • limited amount of music
  • no holder for it, would have to carry
  • if I break it, I’m SOL for car music

Phone (not an iPhone)

Pros

  • unlimited music choices via Spotify
  • easy to switch playlists
  • fits perfectly in old CD fanny pack

Cons

  • it’s been crashing a lot lately
  • not durable – back cover will pop off if I drop it
  • chunky and awkward to hold
  • battery life is kind of sucky

If you have any sort of input on this, I would be much obliged. After looking at the pros and cons written out I’m leaning toward my iPod but I’d still welcome any advice. I know they always tell you not to take music to a race but everyone does it and I can’t just listen to myself think. I can’t. To quote Thomas Dolby, my brain is like a sieve.

Great, now I want to listen to Thomas Dolby.

3 thoughts on “iPod or Phone?

    • I think their reasoning is that since you’re running on roads that it’s dangerous, though I don’t see the logic to that since the streets are closed. A lot of people take music anyway, though.

  1. (then again, I use open-ear bone conduction headphones — http://www.aftershokz.com/AfterShokz-Sportz-M2-Open-Ear-Headphones-p/as321.htm While a nice “side effect” in my eyes is that it makes running while listening to music much safer since your ears are open to hear ambient noise around you, I wear them since it allows me to hear in stereo — my bone conduction hearing is perfect while air conduction is near-deaf on my right side)

Leave a Reply

