New Plan

I did a fun run yesterday, and learned something very important. Judging from the pain in my shin, I am not ready to be running long distances outside. I also learned that I need new shoes but that’s not gonna happen unless the shoe fairy comes to my house. Sigh.

Anyhow, I decided that I need a new plan.

Starting tomorrow I’m going to restart the C25K plan, only I’m gonna do it outside. Three times a week I’m gonna run on the plan wherever I can. There’s a park with good trails near my house, I might do it there. There are also some good trails by the library. I’ll start off with Week One, Day One and work myself up to it.

At the same time, I’m going to continue what I’ve been doing at the gym, which is run 10 minutes, walk 3 minutes, run 10 minutes, rinse, repeat. I’ve been able to run 30 minutes that way without getting completely bored or making my leg hurt. If I keep doing this twice a week I’ll be able to keep my endurance up too.

I think this is a plan that will work to get me ready for a real, live 5K. I’m shooting for July but I might do one in June and just run/walk it like I did yesterday.

More on that tomorrow with the full Fiesta Fandango wrap up. I just needed to babble a little today.

I bought this magnet at the running store where I picked up my packet. Even though I didn’t manage to run the whole way I think I have every right to have it on my car. Because I did finish.SAMSUNG

Leave a Reply

