When It Rains, It Snows

So a few weeks ago I decided to spruce up my resume and start applying to jobs. It was encouraging at first. Within a day of sending out the resumes I got an interview for a nice little place close to us and I went in excited and full of promise. I have a hard time reading men, though, so I didn’t know if it went well or not but I still had hope.

I never heard back for a second interview so I assume it didn’t go very well.

I didn’t hear anything from anybody for a while after that and I was starting to get a little depressed so I looked for pet-sitting jobs on the Craig List and found a local company that was looking for someone. I applied and heard back right away, and they wanted me to interview that very evening.

This time things went well and I left thinking that if I didn’t get the job I would be amazed. All that was left to do was wait and I was sure I’d hear from them.

Then, last night, I got a call from one of the places I’d applied to the first round. He wanted to know if I was still looking for a job and I said that yes, I was. As nice as the pet-sitting job was, it would only be part-time and whenever they needed me. What our family needs right now is a steady income, though, so when the doctor asked if I could meet him right away for an interview I asked what time.

I got the idea that things went well last night. In fact, I kind of got the idea that unless my references told him I’m secretly Hitler I would get the job. My suspicions were confirmed when they called me this morning and asked if I could come in for a working interview tomorrow morning.

That wasn’t the end of it, though. A little while after that, I got a call from the pet-sitting place saying that they wanted to hire me. I sit around for weeks with no one calling or even seeming interested and now in one week I’ve got two interviews, a working interview, and a part-time job offer.

Like I said, we need the full-time job more so I called the pet-sitting lady and explained to her that I was being considered for another position but that I would still love to work for them doing overnight sitting if they needed that. She said she’d have to check her availability and wished me luck. She was so nice I feel completely guilty about it.

So tomorrow I’ve got a good shot at getting a job. I’ve got my scrubs laid out and my alarm set for the morning, and I’m already nervous, which is why I’m writing this post. Hopefully in the next couple of days I’ll be employed again. Trying not to get my hopes up, though, and think about how nice it would be if they wanted me to start next week.

Trying. Probably failing.

Leave a Reply

