Two Things!

First off, I had a working interview yesterday! That meant I had to dig out my scrubs and pray that they still fit. They did, and I didn’t even look like a sausage that popped its casing. Winning.

It was really nerve-wracking at first because I hadn’t even been in a veterinary clinic for over a year. And not in a general practice clinic for a year before THAT. So the first thing I did when I woke up was dig out my old radiology textbook and start reading until I felt I was up to par.

Right away, the other techs and I got along. We talked about where we’d worked before (one of them worked at one of the same places I worked!) and a little about our backgrounds. I helped monitor anesthesia, held for procedures, and at one point drew blood on a patient that the others couldn’t get a drop from. Winning. Again.

I came home after talking to the doc again and tried to take a nap but failed because of the bad case of nerves I had worked myself into. He said he’d let me know by Friday afternoon, so I expected a whole day of freaking out and wondering if they had someone else in mind. If you know me, this is not unusual.

I finally managed to doze off after wrapping myself in a cocoon of blankets (Mister E stole mine so I had to get another out of the closet), and I was just getting to the good part in a dream about a concert pianist when I was awakened by my MC Frontalot ringtone. I recognized the number so I leapt out of bed, ran to the kitchen and answered with my “I AM NOW COMPLETELY SOBER/NO I WAS NOT ASLEEP” voice.

I guess the interview went really well because I got the job. I start Monday at the exciting time of 7:45, at which time I’m going to get my schedule. Double-plus bonus? I told them I was going to be out of town the 17th and 18th for the Ft. Worth Music Festival and to see The Dad and they said it was cool. Woo!

I’m so excited to be working again, you guys. It means I can go to Whole Foods and get chocolate soy ice cream again. It means we can go to Minnano and buy potato croquettes again. I can buy manga. Trader Joe’s edamame. More manga. I can go to Calhoun concerts and run up another $180 bar tab feeding the guys beer and shots (I bet you can imagine the look on my face when I woke up hungover with THAT receipt in my pocket).

Serious. Excitement.

The second thing is something I put on my other blog but I figured I should put it here in case you don’t follow it. I put Minor Side Effects – a story I wrote back in 2006 before the big “zombie boom” hit – over on Smashwords for the very reasonable price of “free.” Okay, actually it’s a pay-what-you-want book, but I just want you to read the damn thing. That means you can get yourself a fun little (okay, 55,000 words) book for free! You can also pay $0.99, $5, even $20 if you’ve got money lying around and you want to help feed my cats.

If you want to try before you buy, there’s an excerpt right here. Then you can hop on over to Smashwords and get your copy for whatever loose change you might have in the cushions of your couch. No couch money? No problem! All I really want is for you to read Minor Side Effects, enjoy it, and maybe share it with a friend. It’s my way of showing my readers (of my books and my blog) my appreciation for your support, even if the support is immoral at best.

Leave a Reply

