I Have Learned Nothing: The O’s

So Friday was another long ass day at work and I was ready for a little rest and relaxation when I got off at 7:00. Thankfully, my break came courtesy of The O’s and a little venue called 502 Bar.

I did not even know cute little bars/venues like this existed in Lamesville! If I had to compare it to one in Austin I would say that it is like Skinny’s, but a little bigger. They had an extensive drink menu and had Tito’s on special, so I knew what I’d be having. After an epic drunk at the MC Chris show (more on that later) that ended with my stomach returning its contents to the ground from whence it came, I had instituted a one-drink policy for the night.

Best laid plans, y’all.

Anyway, I got my Tito’s and Sprite, picked up at Shiner for Mister E and a couple of shots of Jameson for Taylor and John, better known as The O’s. They’re a little indie band from Dallas that is mighty fine. I met them at The Mohawk in Austin (I have been having quite the concert summer, you see) last month and they are some of the nicest guys you ever want to meet. I shouldn’t have been surprised, since they hang out with the guys from Calhoun on the regular. We even talked about what an asshole Tim Locke is (just kidding, he’s awesome).

First things first, I dropped off the shots and greeted the guys. I said hey to Taylor and introduced him to Mister E, and then he said possibly the greatest thing ever. My favorite song by them is Lighten The Load, which is my go-to “stop worrying, it’ll be fine” songs and I had expressed a wish on Twitter to hear it. He told me they had never played it live but they were gonna do it for me that night. There aren’t enough less-than-threes in the world.

They went up on stage to finish setting up and Mister E and I set up shop at the table right beside the stage. There was this thing on the menu called an Orange Whip that consisted of Ketel Oranje, St. Germain, something else, and an orange wedge. It looked promising so I thought I’d relax the policy while I bought Mister E his very first Moscow Mule and another couple of Jameson shots for the guys.The Orange Whip

They played my song, y’all. They said it was a “very special request” and played the song I listen to every time I’m stressed about dental radiographs, whenever I know I’m gonna get snapped at, whenever the anxiety threatens to overwhelm me. I play it so much Mister E was able to sing along. Taylor thanked me for getting them to play it and I thanked them back. With words and booze.

Lighten The Load

The show was so good! I’ve only seen them live twice but I am constantly fascinated by how John can play the harmonica, the banjo and the tambourine at the same time while Taylor sings, plays guitar and kick drum. Seriously, if you’re not listening to The O’s you are missing out. I don’t like pigeonholing music but I suppose you’d have to call them alt-country or maybe even alt-folk. Just go listen to them, already.

The O's

After the show I picked up another Mule for Mister E, some Jameson for Taylor (John wasn’t finished with his yet) and um, another Tito’s and Sprite for me. SHUT UP I KNOW. According to my practice manager, alcohol is a solution. To what, I’m not sure. Social anxiety?

We had a great time talking to the guys, talking about music, burgers (veggie and otherwise) in Austin and the fact that driving north via 281 is a lot nicer than 35. They’re the kind of guys you could just go hang out with and it’d be cool. They’re so cool I bought them beers. Yeah, more of them.

Finally I just said fuck the policy and picked up two Jameson shots for the guys and a shot of Tito’s straight up for myself, which we used to close out the night. There were hugs and goodbyes, and I staggered out of there with my husband to drive home and pass out in my clothes. Good thing my Bee and Puppycat shirt is so comfy.

If things work out, Mister E and I might be going back to 502 to see Mega Ran very soon.

I plan on recapping the other concerts I’ve seen this summer in the next couple of posts, so look forward to it if you like hearing about these little adventures!

Leave a Reply

